05
Aug
10

Love is not a coldplay song


At least it shouldn’t be. Can I blame all my dating woes on a band? It sure would make things easier than taking personal responsibility for my failures. I mean, who really thinks they can fix someone? Here is a song about a guy who is going to fix this girl who’s hurting from what some asshole guy did to her… does that ever really happen? I sure haven’t ever accomplished fixing someone, not that I wasn’t having a professional therapeutic conversation with. In dating and love “fixing someone” never works, you can’t be someone’s therapist, unless you really are their therapist.

“Come up to meet you, Tell you I’m sorry, You don’t know how lovely you are
I had to find you, Tell you I need you, Tell you I set you apart
Tell me your secrets, And ask me your questions, Aww let’s go back to the start”

When does this ever happen? really? Does begging someone back ever work? I guess I wouldn’t know, I’ve never tried it. Somehow I picture a woman saying all of this as appearing needy, clingy, desperate and then called “crazy”. But when men beg me back, and they do sometimes, it usually is more along the lines of, telling me they want another chance because I did something wrong, with out ever saying sorry, or admitting any fault of their own, and the answer is always “NO WAY”. Would be nice to have one ask me back in this way, but like I said, love is definitely not a coldplay song.

“Nobody said it was easy” But why, why can’t it just be a little easy? I mean, maybe it wouldn’t be so hard if we were all honest instead of saying “I’ve just been busy” or “I didn’t get your text” or any of the other numerous games we all play when we just aren’t that into someone. I am not saying I’m not guilty, I totally am, sometimes I just don’t want to deal with hurting someone’s feelings, because it’s not easy. Lets face it, some people don’t take rejection well, it’s why so many of us women online don’t reply with the polite “sorry I’m not interested” because then we get the “I didn’t like you anyway you stupid fat bitch” message in return. It’s easier to ignore certain people. I get that.

“No one ever said it would be so hard” I was warned growing up by numerous adults that love wasn’t easy, that it was hard work, and that when it’s real, it doesn’t always feel good or like you think it should. I was warned, apparently the majority of men weren’t? I’m the girl, I’m the one that is supposed to believe in the fairytale that will never come true, why do I get stuck being the realist and falling for men who keep looking for that ideal fairytale ending with the perfect princess? Love is hard, it hurts, you question it, you stumble, but you try because the good feelings are worth all the bad times a million.

“If you go, if you go ,Leaving me here on my own ,Well I wait for you” Who really waits? My last boyfriend asked me to wait, a week later he was online, looking for dates and denying it. He also said he was only on vacation and was coming back, not that he had moved back home. My bad for being stupid I guess. But really, do people wait? He has this theme of asking people to wait for him, and saying he’ll wait for them. Wait for what? wait for someone to be ready? what if they never are. In my experience if you wait for someone to be ready, it’s not that they aren’t ready, it’s that they aren’t ready for YOU, they will turn around though in 3 months, meet someone else, and get married to them. So don’t wait, either shit or get off the pot.

Love is most definitely not a coldplay song, I could quote a million other lies lines, oops, … Freudian slip? Perhaps. Maybe it’s just another one of my many rants. But I like my rants. I like writing in this blog. It clears my mind, I’ve been sleeping again, something that was starting to be a problem before I began writing. Back to the coldplay thing, sorry, I got off track. Love isn’t a song, it’s not an idea although it may be idealized. It’s funny that the band I’m comparing happens to be one I listen to a lot. Am I a hypocrite? Possibly. At least I’m honest about my conflicting thoughts and emotions. I put my crazy on the table, I don’t like to hide it away for random emotional outbursts. My mind is like a beehive, all those buzzing bees are thoughts, if I don’t let it out, well, you would really see what crazy was like.


1 Response to “Love is not a coldplay song”


  1. August 7, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    “…woman saying all of this as appearing needy, clingy, desperate and then called “crazy”.” Yup…that’s exactly what happened to me the one and only time I tried begging my way back..ughhhh…embarrassing…noit my shining moment for sure..and hell, it didn’t work anyway, except to get me screwed over a few more times for good measure…again, not my shining moment by any means and something I rarely own up to..but I, like you, put my “crazy” out there too….at least I’m honest…and after finally getting away from “please forgive me n take me back” dude, I really don’t think it’s all that crazy anyway…or if so, definitely a GOOD kinda crazy:) If honest and straight-up (in spite of anyone’s discomfort) is crazy, then so be it! I mean, I’ve seen boil-your-pet-rabbit CRAZY…and c’mon!!??!


Leave a Reply

This is Meeeeeeeeeeeee!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Calendar

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

