09
Sep
10

Figured out the insomnia!


Acoustic Neuroma, I did NOT want this!

It’s not a tuma…

It was a very exciting moment when I used my nursing skills to pull all my symptoms together and figure out a very very simple diagnosis after ruling out the more serious idea of a brain tumor. Ok, let me explain why that is the first thing I wanted to rule out, this is how Drs. do it, test for and rule out worst case scenario first! My symptoms for the last 3-4 weeks have been feeling of having water in my left ear, sometimes right too, diziness/rocking feeling, nausea, restless leg syndrome, ringing/buzzing in my ears, waking up with severe headaches 4 or more days a week, leg cramps, blurred vision with the headaches and sweating during the dizzy spells.

see, no tuma, this was little over a year ago, just 2 fillings

Now, I should mention, I have migraines, have had them since I was 12, have had the CT scans, and have a prescription for self administered imitrex injections prn (as needed), which I rarely do, less than 2 times a year, other times I can take the pills earlier on. I also tend to get leg cramps at night and have restless legs and actual visible muscle twitching in my calves if I’m on my feet all day, blame genetics, my mom has the same problem with leg cramps. The thing that worried me was the new onset of vertigo and insomnia. I wasn’t sure if it was a new symptoms linked to the migraines since that can happen, and my migraines are always on the left side behind my eye and the ear that is bothering me worst is my left. It’s known to be associated, but for me, it’s new.

While looking for a clue as to what this could be besides an acoustic neuroma, I was looking at Migraine information, and an article by an RN mentioned treatment with magnesium. I remembered that from my time in the ER in school (I did 120 hours in the ER my senior year as a nurse). I’ve never been given that treatment, but I’ve seen it help patients of mine. My Dr. prefers actual migraine medications (he keeps it on hand for walk-ins, ie. me), however the hospitals don’t keep it on hand for some reason. So I see that you can treat migraines with magnesium, and think… huh. Symptoms of hypomagnesmia… tetany (aka. also muscle cramps), headaches, insomnia…. ding, a little light bulb went off! I just stopped taking prilosec aka omaprazole with magnesium! Now I’m taking omaprazole plain without magnesium. Dum dum dum… it was like the time I was having heart palpitations with bradycardia and my friend was about to force me to go to the Dr. when I realized it was just my potassium that got too low again, I have a tendency towards low electrolytes as it is. I also found out omaprazole has recently been found to lower magnesium, which I guess is why they started adding it to some formulations. Nice, I’ve only been on it for like a year now. I’m going to try a different ppi drug, see what happens with nexium. I’ve heard it’s a little safer. But… we all know how that goes. I really don’t like having to take more pills to fix the problem another pill caused. But… I can’t eat at all with the constant burning pain in my chest if I don’t take something daily for it. So… down the hatch, this will now make 4 pills at night. Wow, if this isn’t a sign I’m getting older, I don’t know what is. The only pill I use to take was so I didn’t get knocked up. Now look what I’ve become.

5 Responses to “Figured out the insomnia!”


  1. September 9, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    I am glad you’ve figured out your issues…this was like a show on the Discovery Health Channel…except I didn’t fall asleep somewhere in the middle.

    • September 10, 2010 at 11:04 am

      Glad I’m more interesting than the DHC. And, great news, I slept last night! Like REALLY slept! I got a whole 7 hours! I think I could have slept more! Amazing what a little vitamin can do! I feel like a new woman, well, at least more like myself. The fluid in the ear feeling isn’t there today so far, so maybe I won’t get dizzy and sick today! Woohoo!

  2. September 11, 2010 at 3:07 am

    Just do me a favor and leave out my copy of the Tao of Pooh…that shit rocks and we should all follow it.

    It’s all about the honey anyway.

    I am such a polyanna.

  3. August 21, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    It’s an remarkable piece of writing in favor of all the online users; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

  4. October 27, 2014 at 9:44 am

    It’s going to be finish of mine day, however before end
    I am reading this enormous piece of writing to
    improve my experience.


Leave a Reply

This is Meeeeeeeeeeeee!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Calendar

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

