13
Oct
10

Less now costs more?


 

I think we actually use to have these same chairs in the kitchenette

 

I was raised on beef, chicken, pork and everything normal Americans eat. All the fat bad for you recipes never made me obese though until I was much older, well, I was never “obese” in the clinical sense, my BMI was around 28 however at one point and over 25 is considered overweight. I lived on fast food, I was working full time plus going to school full time, I’m so glad that part of my life is over, it’s not good for anyone to cram so much into so little time, and I could have planned things better, gotten a hour less sleep, to prepare proper meals and saved myself a lot of money at the fat Dr. But over the years I’ve found something interesting happening, a new trend that probably makes it harder for people in this country to stay healthy, even with somewhat healthy eating habits.

We now add unhealthy things to perfectly healthy food. Natural foods like fruits and vegetables are covered in pesticides and preservatives, picked before their ripe date and sprayed with chemicals that both ripen and preserve at the same time to provide us with things long out of season from far away. Meat is injected with sodium and other chemicals after slaughter, before slaughter it’s fed antibiotics and hormones to increase growth so the seller can get more money and we can enjoy crazy large portions. At what cost? Somehow, all of these additions cost LESS than buying the product with none. What is truly natural is now a specialty item called “organic” and costs more? Smaller chicken breasts, advertise “No hormones or antibiotics ever”. Guess what… chickens have NEVER been fed hormones, that’s a marketing gimmick to get you to pay more. Go buy organic free range grass fed ground beef and make a burger, I dare you. If you were born before the 1980’s and remember what meat tasted like before hormones, antibiotics, and preservatives, you will have a beefy flashback of flavor. It’s amazing how good it tastes. Not only that, if you buy ground beef from Walmart vs. a grocer who grinds their own fresh daily, note the subtle differences there as well. Walmart adds chemicals to the outer surface of the beef to keep it pink, yummy isn’t it?

 

This is NOT cute! This is sad and unacceptable!

Why can I make a hamburger at home with 80/20 beef and it has 15 grams of fat and 230 calories. Add bun and cheese and condiments as I do, you get up to 20 grams of fat and 500 calories for a good sized hamburger. Lets face it, a good hamburger has to use 80/20 beef, you can save that 93/7 crap for tacos, spaghetti, and other ground beef dishes, burgers are best greasy. Go to Hardee’s and get 57 grams of fat and 850 calories! For a burger! How do you manage that exactly? I see this across the board at resturants since when friends ask me to eat out I look at the menu online to see what they have that I can eat instead of rubbing it directly on my thighs. I’m always astonished at the foods that should be the most healthy, low calorie, nutritious choices are higher than the greasy burger. How do you make angel hair pasta with diced tomatoes, chicken, and a little parmesean 1172 calories and 29 grams of fat???? Oh, that’s right, you toss the pasta in BUTTER! Why on earth would anyone do this? It’s not necessary at all, it would taste just as wonderful, if not better minus the butter! In fact, the butter and fat content of this meal upsets my stomach. There is little in the TGIFridays menu I can eat, the two “healthy” options they have are so disgusting they are not edible. I usually end up munching a few chips and salsa and sticking with booze, at least they can’t add butter to that right?

 

Can you believe you put this in your body? Credit to the full article if you clicky.

 

We have infected our food supply with so many artificial preservatives and chemicals it’s amazing there aren’t more complaints of illness. Then there is the latest and greatest about how McD’s doesn’t decompose like other foods, real foods… gross. How can McDonalds claim “McDonald’s hamburger patties in the United States are made with 100% USDA-inspected ground beef,” Riley wrote. “Our hamburgers are cooked and prepared with salt, pepper and nothing else — no preservatives, no fillers…” Really, how do you explain the unique flavor that ONLY McDonalds hamburgers have? NO seasonings? Come on now, do you really expect the public to believe that? Surely someone out there has taken a burger from there to be analyzed in a lab before right? I’d love to get my hands on those results! Rumors when I was in college were that it was made from vaginal meat of the cow which is why it has such a different texture. That wasn’t quite enough to gross me out to tell the truth, meat is meat when it’s cooked. But when it’s not meat, and it doesn’t rot like any organic substance, cooked or uncooked, well… that is a different story entirely.

 

Is anyone surprised by these numbers? I love the Swedish... oh wait, I'm swedish, I guess I love myself.

 

I don’t understand how we add chemicals that cost MORE money, yet the raw ingredients, minus chemicals to make your own version cost more? A normal tomato right now costs about $2.00 a lb. depending where you buy it, while an organic tomato is around $3.50 a lb, and it has NO pesticides. So it’s minus a costly chemical… and costs more, because….??? is anyone seeing how crazy this is? How ridiculous fad based we are as a society? I’ve been saying for months we should be more like the Swedish, what can I say, I love my people, I think they have gotten so much right over the last few centuries. It’s a good society that has figured out the best things in life. Sorry, tangent… So anyway, Organic foods are the “premium” food now, not the norm. Wait what? Food, in it’s natural state is premium, aka. above average? How did that happen folks? Food with stuff that is bad for us to put in our bodies is normal and considered average? I think it’s time we changed this! I think it’s time we demand our government stop allowing this crap and take better care of it’s people before it has no one left to tax!

2 Responses to “Less now costs more?”


  1. 1 don'tknowwhoyouare
    October 13, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    Great post-loved the last line.

  2. October 26, 2010 at 10:43 am

    It has to do with a long, convoluted line of industrial agriculture and meat, large corporations squeezing less and less out of land, with the help of more -icides, etc. And there are subsidies in there, too. Just like with the Model-T, you can make more for less, if you do it the industrial way. I don’t even really understand it.

    Not how I like my food.

    Eat local. Period.


Leave a Reply

This is Meeeeeeeeeeeee!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Calendar

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

