02
Nov
10

fighting a losing battle


I’m sure you think this is some deep post about men, relationships, or more whining how much I hate my parents, but you would be wrong. This post is about bread. I can’t make it. I keep trying and the yeast hates me.  Tonight attempt is to make Sausage and Cheese Kolaches. It’s a Texas thing, so yes, I guess that gives away where I’m from. Dammit. It’s a big state, I don’t think you will figure out who I am just by the fact I’m from there, well raised, not born.

So back to my problem with yeast breads. Okay, any bread. I can’t even make a tortilla! The thing is, I’m a GREAT cook! I can grill the best chicken you have ever had, it doesn’t even get dry! I can make anything for dinner! But I can’t master bread! I gave up on my recent tortilla mission, which should the kolche’s be a success will resume soon, for bread making. So far I have managed to make several bricks. My dough just doesn’t rise much, and then the bread (tortilla’s included) are horribly heavy, so bad you just can’t eat more than a bite. I follow the recipe exactly! But none the less… I’m a failure at bread.

So here I am hoping that I can make a kolache, because frankly I’d sell my soul for one Shipley’s sausage and cheese kolache at the moment. Yes, this is a kolache, from shipleys donuts in Texas. You just.don’t.know.

What I want to know is why don’t other states make them? Why is the deliciousness of the kolache limited to just the state of Texas? It just isn’t fair. Although it’s probably best for my diet, I still would kill, sell my soul, for one perfect sausage and cheese kolache…

So… here goes nothing, I’ve worked for 2 hours on this dough… they are going in the oven now and in 15 minutes, I will either have sausages with bricks around them, or heavenly bliss…

4 Responses to “fighting a losing battle”


  1. 1 Kat
    November 3, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    Well, damn. I’ve been wanting to make some kolaches (fruit, cuz I’m Czech), but am intimidated by the whole rising things. Guess I’ll continue to procrastinate and hope that Mom makes plenty when I’m home for the holidays.

  2. November 4, 2010 at 7:01 am

    This was an easy recipe, I did actually have success! I even made bread last night and it turned out pretty good! I think I have finally got this whole bread thing down… maybe.

    • November 5, 2010 at 8:44 pm

      I was curious to know if your kolaches worked out! Congrats!!

      I have tried to make bread a few times and it’s never quite right. And one time, I volunteered (I don’t know what I was thinking!) to make a panettone for Christmas…which I had never done before…and it was the first time my ex had Christmas with my family…and my whole family showed up for Xmas to meet him… it was tasty, but very rock-like… oops.

      • November 6, 2010 at 9:06 am

        Not only did they work, I made Cinnamon swirl bread 2 nights ago and it came out wonderful! I gave a loaf to my old instructors at my school and they gobbled it up FAST! Good way to ensure a good letter of recommendation! ;P I am going to make more bread today, I just have to figure out what kind I want to make. I’m leaning towards cinnamon raisin bread, but don’t know yet. Going to browse recipes.


Leave a Reply

This is Meeeeeeeeeeeee!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Calendar

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

