27
Nov
10

what’s new with me?


I’m glad you asked! I realize I haven’t posted much lately, and it’s mostly because I haven’t much to say these days. But I do have some happy news. I have an amazing new job! I am officially an ICU nurse. I knew I got it after the interview, it was just a matter of waiting for the official offer from human resources. Which unexpectedly came as three offers! I had interviewed two weeks prior for another easier position but wasn’t sure if I got it, apparently I did, and had to choose. The ICU position was an interview for two different critical care positions, neuro and regular. I made the decision of regular for now, maybe transfer to neuro after a year or two. The pay is great, especially being a night shift, and the benefits can’t be beat. I love the hospital and staff that I’ve met thus far, so I’m sure going to work every night will be an educational experience. On the down side, back to school I go! I have to get two special certifications in the next six months. CCRN and ACLS. But it’s for the best, it’s great to have both on my resume and change my title to CCRN from RN. This is the job every recent graduate dreams of, it opens doors to my future that help me live the life I want to live. So, that is that. I start December 13th.

Other than that, nothing new is going on. Friends are friends, no new boys and I’d rather there not be at this time with so much new work related stuff going on. I’ve been reading, a lot. I’ve finished the Sookie books, the Wolves of Mercy Falls series, watched a ton of movies, worked, baked lots of bread, and hung out with friends. I suppose I should write about the bonfire night and the revelation I had. Maybe later. I have cinnamon rolls ready to go in the oven and have to get to the store to buy ingredients for the frosting! Hope you all had a hearty Thanksgiving and lots to be thankful for.

7 Responses to “what’s new with me?”


  1. November 27, 2010 at 9:58 am

    That’s fantastic! Congratulaions!! 🙂

  2. November 27, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Hey, congrats on the new job!

  3. November 28, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Congrats on the new job!! 🙂

  4. November 29, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Congrats on the new job!

    How were the Sookie books? I l-o-v-e True Blood and have considered picking them up, but would hate to ruin it… for myself… ?

    And. Please send bread. And cinnamon rolls.

    • November 29, 2010 at 6:03 pm

      Thanks to everyone for the congrats!

      Def. get the sookie books! They are different from the series, so different in fact that it doesn’t ruin the series for you. Same characters for the most part, but some are very different, like Tara. It gives you a whole new appreciation for Eric! That’s for sure! Book 4 is the best, at least in my opinion. There are also a bunch of short stories that go with them to read between the stories, you can get most of them free online in various places rather than buying a bunch of anthology books you won’t read for anything but those stories. They help understand a few of the books, especially the one about her cousin and new roommate.

      My friend from Cali came into town this morning and I gave him cinnamon rolls I made Saturday morning. I seriously love making this stuff, and eating, but I can’t eat that much bread or I’ll never lose weight! I should make an etsy store and sell bread. Or maybe should sell it at the hospital. It’s therapeutic to beat on and knead bread when I’m stressed or just bored and avoiding other less fun tasks like bathing a cat.

      • November 30, 2010 at 10:12 am

        How to get your colleagues to adore you forever and ever: Bring bread and other baked goods to the staff room.

        At least. That would make me adore you forever and ever if I worked with you. And you would have an even better excuse to not bathe the cat: winning the adoration of your peers. Not bribing. Even if they are really good baked goods. Dammit.

  5. January 6, 2011 at 8:04 am

    OHHHHH my STARS!! I am sooooo excited for you!!! Big fat congrats:) xoxo


Leave a Reply

This is Meeeeeeeeeeeee!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers

Calendar

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

